The subject of Immersive and 3D Audio represents one of the most important topics in Audio Engineering, Room Acoustics, Automotive, Virtual Augmented Reality, and their applications, ranging from applications in music composition to audio for automotive, including 3D audio for gaming.

The 2023 International Conference on Immersive and 3D Audio (I3DA) will represent the most recent stages in the development of new methodologies and technologies in this field, placing itself as a high-profile international meeting for researchers and other professionals in immersive and 3D audio areas. It will feature three plenary sessions by world-renowned speakers, 10 special sessions, over 100 talks on these topics as well as listening experiences in the form of demos and installations.

The conference will be hosted by the University of Bologna, on September 5-7, 2023, featuring as general Conference Chair Prof. Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna, President of AES Italian Section) and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board Prof. Angelo Farina (University of Parma). The I3DA 2023 proceedings will be submitted to the IEEE for publication and will also be indexed on Scopus and Web of Science.

We look forward to seeing you in Bologna for a full immersion in the latest trends in immersive and 3D audio research!


  • Location:  School of Engineering and Architecture, University of Bologna, Italy (venue info here).
  • Dates: September 5-7 – 2023
  • Topic: Immersive and 3D Audio.
  • Focus areas: audio engineering, room acoustics, applied acoustics, heritage acoustics, automotive, virtual augmented reality, soundscape, sonic ecology.
  • Fields of application: music composition, sound design, 3D audio tools, audio for automotive, simulation of acoustic environments, immersive environments, 3D audio for gaming.
  • Templates for preparing your oral presentations or posters here.
  • Scientific program here.
  • Registration and tickets: more info here.


Prof. Lamberto Tronchin

Prof. Lamberto Tronchin
Congress Chair I3DA 2023

(University of Bologna, Italy)



Angelo Farina (University of Parma, Italy)

Thushara Abhayapala (The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)
Jens Ahrens (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden)
Lidia Álvarez Morales (University of Barcelona, Spain)
Francesco Asdrubali (President of AIA – Italian Association of Acoustics, Italy)
Arianna Astolfi (Vice President of EAA)
Angela Bellia (CNR, Institute of Heritage Science, Italy)
Umberto Berardi (Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada)
Jonathan Berger (Stanford University, USA)
Braxton Boren (American University, Washington, USA)
Alejandro Bidondo (UNTREF University, Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Thibaut Carpenter (IRCAM, France)
Filippo Fazi (University of Southampton, UK)
Huseyin Hacihabiboglu (METU, Ankara, Turkey)
Octávio Inácio (InAcoustics, Lda., Porto, Portugal)
Sergio Luzzi (President of IIAV, Italy)
Francesco Martellotta (Polytechnic of Bari, Italy)
Ioannis Mourjopoulos (University of Patras, Greece)
John O’Keefe (O’Keefe Acoustics, Toronto, Canada)
Alberto Pinto (Vice President of AES – Southern Europe, Middle East, Africa)
Boaz Rafaely (Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel)
Jens Holger Rindel (Odeon A/S, Denmark)
Ryota Shimokura (Osaka University, Japan)
Bernhard Seeber (Technische Universität München, Germany)
Louena Shrepi (Polytechnic of Turin, Italy)
Yoshiharu Soeta (AIST, Japan)
Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna, Italy)
Aurelio Uncini (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)
Cobi van Tonder (University of Bologna, Italy)
Stephan Ewert (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
Ingo Witew (Aachen University, Germany)
Ning Xiang (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, New York, USA)


Cobi van Tonder (University of Bologna)- Organising Committee Chair

Lamberto Tronchin (University of Bologna)
Antonella Bevilacqua (University of Parma)
Ruoran Yan (University of Bologna)
Maria Christina Tommasino (University of Bologna)


More information will be released soon!